Girls, Water Parks,Boys and… Self Confidence.

So some time during the summer, I went to the water park with three friends just to chill you know.. “Girls girls” Lol. I’m kind of adventurous so I was so excited to try the “scary” rides. Once we got there we began to explore the different rides the park had to offer. We started with the pretty simple ones and it was all fun but the wild side of me couldn’t wait to try the highest ride in the park. Well it was the first time I was going to a water park with them so I didn’t really know how adventurous they were. Well I found out as soon enough but I thought I was going to be able to convince them to join me for the highest ride and I was really determined.
As we walked towards the ride two girls gave up on me so I was left with “a ride or die.” The ride required two people (well, not really but I thought going in pairs would have been more fun.) Guess what! After being in line for what seemed to me like forever, my “ride or die” also gave up on me. I couldn’t believe it. I thought I had done a pretty good job convincing her to overcome her fear and try something new (I just really enjoy watching people experience something for the first time.) So yeah she left me there alone with my double float. Coincidentally someone in the line also had their partner give up on them so he joined me and oh my! That adrenaline rush was everything!

Okay but this is not even the main focus of my story. Pardon me for being this long. Lol! Anyway my main issue is the comment my friend made while I was still recovering from my excitement. She said <These rides are too intense; at least if we had boys to ride with, I wouldn’t be this scared. They would protect us.>

Aldkdbjvhcvc!!! Excuse me…What?! I couldn’t believe my ears. I couldn’t believe she made that statement. I don’t even think she really understood the implications of that statement. You need a guy to take you on a ride so you won’t be afraid?! Why?! What’s he going to do? Protect you? How?! What happened to self confidence? Why can’t you be strong for yourself? Why don’t you work on finding strength from within yourself instead of looking for it in someone else? In a guy. I was just amazed because I never expected a statement like that from her.

Ok so it’s common knowledge that men are physically stronger than women. PHYSICALLY. My thing is, It shouldn’t apply to every aspect of our living. I’m always rooting for women who are on a journey of self love and finding strength and confidence in theirselves. It’s not an easy journey since we are constantly being conditioned to think that no matter our accomplishments or our capabilities a man has to be in the picture. I’m not saying we should start a war against guys. What bothers me is not the fact that she feels like she needs a man but the reason. I mean there’s nothing the guy is going to other than sit in the donut with you just like any other person. I just thought to myself that if she could make such a statement on such a simple matter, what would her thoughts be on much complex situations. I just thought it was sad!

Leave a Reply

