Bet You Didn’t Know

Bet you didn’t know
When I walked into the room
All you saw was a dark skin girl
In six inch high heel shoes

Bet you didn’t know
That those legs have walked miles
Through the storms of life
On grounds of stone and ice

Bet you didn’t know
When you looked at me
All you saw was dark brown eyes
Eyeliner and eye shadow on point

Bet you didn’t know
That the perfection of this make up
Has been imperfected my mascara marks
Rolling down these cheeks like late night tsunami

Bet you didn’t know
When I said “hi”
All you saw was bright red lips
Carefully carved by our creator

Bet you didn’t know
That these lips have confessed bitterness
That surpasses the taste of this cheap lipstick
Bitterness, but also prayer, hope, love, lies

Bet you didn’t know
When you shook my hands
All you felt was a soft touch
Nail polish complementing my melanin filled skin

Bet you didn’t know
That these hands have been scarred by sharp rocks
While climbing to reach the mountain top of success
Skin tortured by the unforgiving sun but my melanin too strong

Bet you didn’t know
When I was on the dance floor
All you saw was me synchronized with the beat
Like I was one with the music

Bet you didn’t know
That I was forced to dance to life’s rhythms
Some I liked, some I didn’t, others unknown
Twisting and turning this body in uncomfortable positions

Bet you didn’t know
When you saw me laugh
All you saw was bright straight teeth
Lined up like keys on a piano

Bet you didn’t know
That I have had to bite my tongue many times
Say I’m sorry for rights that were not my wrongs
To stay where I didn’t belong pretending to be strong

Bet you didn’t know
Because when I walked in the room
You saw a black “female”
You saw legs, eyes, heels, lips, make up, smile..

Bet you didn’t know
Bet you couldn’t tell
That
This black “female” is a warrior

4 thoughts on “Bet You Didn’t Know

  1. Bet you didn’t know that the stanza below would be one of my favourite parts of this poem:

    “Bet you didn’t know
    That these lips have confessed bitterness
    That surpasses the taste of this cheap lipstick
    Bitterness, but also prayer, hope, love, lies”

    I really like that line:

    “That these lips have confessed bitterness.”

    “confessed bitterness”, hmmm such vivid picture to me.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

